2019 AIA Toledo Design Awards Program


AND THE WINNERS ARE ...                                                       

We are celebrating twenty four years in awarding architectural design excellence. The Design Awards categories have been expanded to recognize design excellence in the areas of Architecture, Interior Design, Small Projects and Preservation. There were seventeen (17) project entries received for this year’s Design Awards Program representing seven (7) NW Ohio architectural firms/architects.  All entries were reviewed on April 9, 2019 in New York, NY by an independent jury of architects where two (2) entries were selected to receive Honor Awards and three (3) entries were selected to receive Citation Awards.  Awards were presented at the 2019 AIA Toledo Design Awards Gala held at Poco Piatti in Downtown Toledo on Friday, April 26, 2019.

The Design Award Jury differs each year and is composed of a well respected group of architects practicing outside of the state of Ohio. This Jury is charged with performing a critical evaluation of the project submissions. This evaluation considers the goals, challenges and design influences inherent to each project and the sensitivity with which the final design solution addresses these factors. Each project is judged on its own merits; not in competition with one another. The projects which have been selected to receive the Citation Award have been deemed by the Jury as having achieved a high level of design excellence. Those projects which have been given the distinction of the Honor Award are recognized as having demonstrated exemplary design sensitivity.

2019 Jury Chairs:
Elizabeth Leber, AIA, LEED AP
Partner,  Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners

2019 Jury Members:
Anne Lubrano, AIA
Partner,  Lubrano Ciavarra Design
Carrie Moore, NCARB
Principal, SOM Skidmore Owings & Merrill LLP
Nancy A. Rankin, AIA, LEED AP
Principal, John G. Waite Associates

Thomas J. Zoli, NCARB 
Principal, Workshop/apd

* * Click on individual photos below for larger view * *

Honor Awards:


Project Name:    PBE Southview Production Expansion
Bowling Green, Ohio    
MacPherson Architects Inc./2MA




Project Name:   HART Corporate Headquarters
Toledo, Ohio
Architect:           The Collaborative




 Citation Awards:

Project Name:  NORTH Design
Holland, Ohio    
        Duket Architects




Project Name:  Silver Lining House
Perrysburg, Ohio    
MacPherson Architects Inc./2MA




Project Name:  Angela Athletic + Wellness Center
Notre Dame, Indiana
The Collaborative